What is search engine marketing (SEM)?

What is search engine marketing (SEM)?

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What is search engine marketing (SEM)?
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Wondering what search engine marketing is? What is SEM? Our video explains what search engine marketing is and how it differs from search engine optimization. You can run search engine marketing ads through popular channels like Google AdWords, Bing Ads, Pinterest Ads, Yahoo Gemini, and more.

View Surfside PPC article: https://surfsideppc.com/search-engine-marketing-ads/

What is search engine marketing? https://surfsideppc.com/what-is-search-engine-marketing-sem/

Complete Guide to Search Engine Marketing: https://surfsideppc.com/search-engine-marketing/

Basics of Search Engine Marketing: https://surfsideppc.com/9-basics-of-search-engine-marketing/

Search engine marketing is also known as paid search marketing and involves keyword targeting, or marketing your ads in relation to specific keywords or search queries. Search engine marketing is a form of pay-per-click (PPC) advertising that allows advertisers to pay for each click on their website.

Our search engine marketing tutorial and tips will help you easily understand what it means and what it is. Ultimately, your goal is to run ads and have paid listings in the search engine results pages. These ads increase your brand's visibility and drive additional paid traffic to your website. The optimal SEM solution is when your paid traffic from search engines gives you a positive return on ad spend (ROAS) and return on investment.

Important terms:

PPC or Pay-Per-Click or Pay-Per-Call: PPC can mean paying for every click on your website or every call to your business. There are mobile call-only ad formats where customers can click to call your business directly.

CPC or Cost Per Click: The final amount you spend divided by the total number of clicks is your final cost per click. For example, if you spend $100 and get $200 in clicks, your CPC is $0.50/click.

CTR or Click-Through Rate: Your final total number of clicks on your ad divided by your total number of impressions equals your click-through rate. Generally, a high CTR compared to the competition is a sign of an organized and optimized campaign.

About the video:

First, we'll cover the definition of search engine marketing, which is paid ads on search engine results pages. If you go to Google or Bing or any other search engine that has paid ads, those are search engine marketing ads. There are a ton of channels you can run SEM ads on, but Google AdWords is by far the biggest SEM channel for advertisers.

We'll show you a few different examples of search engine marketing ads from Google, Bing, and Pinterest. There are tons of examples and a quick Google search will help you generally understand what SEM ads look like.

It's important to note that your SEM ads can include images with product listings. These campaigns are managed by uploading your product feed to Google Merchant Center and running Google Shopping campaigns. Instead of your standard SEM text ad, you can run visual SEM ads that include images of your products, descriptions, reviews, and more.

Ads in search engine marketing are constantly changing. It used to be just standard text ads where you could click through and go to a website. Today you can run clickable mobile ad formats that let people call you with one click. You can use sitelink extensions and show 4 different key pages on your website. You can use review extensions and show people the average reviews for your business which can instantly build trust. You can use structured snippets which can show brands, amenities, neighborhoods, products, promotions and more. You can use app extensions so people on a mobile phone can easily download your app which gives them a better user experience. You can use location extensions and show where your business is located which can generate additional footfall.

You can do so many different things with search engine marketing ads. The main benefit is that you can place your ad right where people are searching. It's like having your plumber ad right in front of people searching for plumbers at that exact moment. It has almost completely replaced Yellow Pages style ads (though they still exist) because you can dynamically change your SEM ads throughout the year.

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